top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina Hollensbe

Birthday Brunch!

Hello everyone! I hope all of you had a wonderful July 4th weekend!🇺🇸❤️🤍💙🎇


My birthday falls on July 2nd. I typically don’t get to celebrate it much because we’re either traveling, working, or busy for the holiday. But THIS year (amidst this stressful time), I wanted to do something special. Not just for myself but for my lovely gal pals.☺️


I LOVE hosting. Any chance I get to make things pretty and make people feel special is a “win” for me. This year it’s been a bit difficult to gather around (for obvious reasons) so I wanted to make sure to keep the group small and it worked out perfectly!


Who wants to see the deets?!🙋🏻‍♀️


First, as my guests entered the room, the first thing they see is this hand washing station (along with some masks if needed).

I took a silver tea set and filled it with pink soap, scrubs, and floral rose soaps to encourage the "washing of the hands". ;)




Isn’t it pretty??


DRINKS


For the drinks I brought out my blue glasses and decorated them with little umbrellas.



I love how they against my blue and white tablecloth (on sale at Williams Sonoma).


I took my beloved glass and copper jar and filled it with limes, berries, and mint for some fresh water (it was delish)! I tried to do that early in the morning so the water would be infused by the time guests arrived.


I also had rose! My love for pink is well represented here. I used thrifted ice buckets and filled them with “floral ice” because I’m extra like that. I just love how the colors pop!




I also had mimosas, peach bellinis, champagne, hot coffee and hot water ready for my guests discretion.


FOOD


For food I had chicken salad sandwiches on croissants (premade chicken salad because who wants to cook for their birthday?!🤷🏻‍♀️)


I made a broccoli Romain salad topped with crunchy noodles and pecans with homemade dressing.


I also had (premade) quiche Lorraine cut into slices.







I really liked using white dishes here because white makes the food "pop" and appear more appetizing (and it was DELISH!)

DESSERTS

I used my crystal wedding glasses to make “fruit cups”. I simply rolled the rim with honey and gold sugar. Once dried, I filled the cups with berries and topped off with cream cheese fruit dip and mint from my garden (well, garden box...I’m starting slow).



Believe it or not the "silver" tray is actually from the Dollar Store!! I have a few and I've had them FOREVER. They really do come in handy and just make everything look more aesthetically pleasing (budget and kid friendly)! I just make sure to hand wash and dry right away. They are perfect!

I also had these beautiful macarons made by the local “Macaron Lady”. I put them in a light pink footed bowl (thrifted).



She also made my beautiful cake (I apologize in advance for all the pics but it was just gorgeous)!






DISHES

For my dishes I was glad to pull out my blue & whites, famille rose, crystal, and thrifted silver. It was all a hodge podge but I LOVE mixing patterns. I just think it makes things feel fun and somewhat casual (I don’t want a “perfect” stuffy presentation).





I used a blue willow pitcher for silverware and was happy to use pretty DISPOSABLE napkins. ;) The beautiful apron in the background was a gift from my friend Monica Benavidez...see her beautiful home decor line here.

ENTERTAINMENT

For entertainment I always like having music playing in the background. Nothing says "party" like some good music (no matter how tamed the party may be). But the star of the show was making these beautiful flower arrangements with my friend Julia from “Wild Veggie Bouquet”! I mean...look at all the beautiful flowers we got to play with!






We had so many flowers that I had to make room! At the last minute I pulled the card table from the garage and threw this pretty floral tablecloth on it (found at Home Goods). I think it worked out just fine!


My guests got to make BEAUTIFUL floral arrangements and take them home with them! I never met a flower I didn’t like and there’s just something about beautiful flowers that makes the heart smile.




The whole set-up was just a “feast for the eyes” (as my friend Monica would say it☺️).


It was one of the best birthdays in a long time. I enjoyed spending it with such special people and I think they had a lovely time too.

I was one happy girl and I’m still enjoying my flowers!🌺 🌸 💐




I hope you enjoyed these pics of my beautiful birthday brunch. If you have any questions about recipes, contacts, or anything else, please don’t hesitate to ask!💋

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page