top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina Hollensbe

Master Bedroom Refresh

Updated: Jan 16, 2021

As I was perusing through Pinterest one sleepless evening and mindlessly scrolling, I fell upon Lex Pyfrom’s Versailles themed bedroom. It was girly, glamy, sophisticated, beautiful, and it stopped me in my tracks!

With that, I was inspired to create my own Versailles experience. With the exception of one or two items, I honed in on pieces I already had to create the room I desired.


Decluttering

One of the things that has bugged me about my master bedroom is that it’s way too crowded and the layout isn’t “feng shui”.


One of the ways I remedied this issue was to get rid of my settee at the footboard.


Although it was a gorgeous blue leather tufted piece, it wasn’t functional for the space. I was glad it went to a really sweet young couple.


When refreshing a space, I like to start with a blank "canvas" and clear the room of almost everything.


So this is my new view...but first just a caveat, some of you may be "underwhelmed" but I wanted to keep this space light, airy, and simple. It is the kind of space I can "take a load off". A cluttered busy room gives me a cluttered busy mind...so there you have it. ;)









The goal was to find things I already had in my home instead of spending lavishly on new things. Now for the deets.


THRIFTED FINDS:


*TRUE CONFESSION* Sometimes when I thrift, I have NO CLUE where the piece I buy is gonna go. I just like things that are different, that catch my eye. Sometimes the item(s) will sit in the garage or in the back of my car until I remember them.


Like this REAL SILVER candelabra...it could probably use another polish but for $4 at Salvation Army, it was a STEAL! I added the crystal prisms which were also budget-friendly on Amazon.



The lovely footed gold tray with mustard velvet lining was also a beautiful thrifty find. The thrifted crystal candy dish with lid holds all my mini perfumes...the gold, crystals, and velvet is the perfect luxe combo I was looking for.


This lingerie chest was another FBMP find. (Ya'll know how much I love bamboo motifs)! At some point I will probably paint the hardware gold but for now, I like how the black plays off the leopard rug (yes, it's raining here today).






HANGING HOOK


I’m OBSESSED with this lil “flowers in hand" hook bought at Anthropologie. It sat in my closet FOR EVER until I found just the right spot for it...by my dresser. It will conveniently holds some of my favorite necklaces. :)



This ornate cherub mirror was found at Salvation Army for a couple of bucks. It looked like it was a vanity mirror at some point (notice the sides) but little imperfections don’t bother me much. It was BLACK and AGED but I also knew that I could shine this beauty up with a little bit of paint.😉 I did the same with the marble shelf (found elsewhere) to give it a more cohesive look.




Ideally I wanted a Rocco mirror with console but the few that I found were just too big for my space. I remembered this marble shelf that I saw at my local antique store and went back for it. Again, the gold wasn't my shade but nothing a can of paint couldn't fix (plus, I wanted it to match the mirror)!


I recognize the mirror is a tad small but I absolutely love this budget friendly combo and it’s perfect for this space!


DETAILS


I love the reflection of this baroque style mirror...it’s like bringing the outdoors in.


The tassel curtain tie-backs were a $10 fbmp find a while back.


The floral art print peeking on the other side of the mirror was an H&M find. I love the moodiness it brings.



Initially I was going to remove the floral wallpaper but I love it so much, I just couldn't bring myself to do it. Somehow I think the combo works. :)


ON MY DRESSER:

I love just about everything on my dresser...


The "crossiant" lights up (great for those late night bathroom trips) and I love how the "sophisticated" print brings in a little fun while "unsophisticatedly" blowing gum bubbles.


Speaking of "blowing bubbles", I am drawn to this look for some reason. I thrifted this one of Marylin for a few bucks at an antique store...it sets on my Henredon cabinet along with some blush pink roses in a box I made myself.



I love how you can see a glimpse of my federal mirror and entryway Christmas tree from my bed...it brings in such a festive mood with lights.



Although my bedroom doesn’t necessarily scream “coastal home”, it is certainly a calm space of light and serenity...isn’t that what every master suite should be? For now, I will envision myself as if I were on the French Riviera. ;)

STILL NEED:


Eventually I would like to change my bedroom furniture and incorporate some meterie moulding but for now, this will definitely work!


I need a new rug for the foot of the bed and to order my crystal door knobs.


These details will make a HUGE difference.


Did I miss anything? I think I will throw on a hat and do some thrifting today.

I just love this space...it’s light, clean, airy, and spacious!😍 Have a good day my loves!


xoxox,

Christina

43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page