top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina Hollensbe

Home Office Makeover Reveal

FINALLY! I'm soooo sorry you guys it took FOREVER to get this Home Office Makeover Reveal posted. There was a delay in the custom framing, work was keeping me pretty busy, and then - well - just life. But now here we are. :)


Ok, I have a confession to make...I keep saying I don’t like black, but somehow I keep getting drawn to it. Black can make things look visually “heavy” when I prefer a clean, light and airy look. But this is the thing, used in the right spaces and places (and in the right amount), “black” can actually ENHANCE the colors around it giving it a BOLD statement.


I love a maximalist vibe without clutter. I love all my “pretties” but I’m also a bit ADD OCD so I have to make two opposite ends of the spectrum work.☺️.

This project has a lot more “white space” which I’m loving in a room where my brain is often “colored” with projects.


I also wanted the space to be playful yet sophisticated.

I incorporated a lot more green this time around and considering our home is called, “The Palm House”, I’m really loving it!


As you enter my office, you can say the vibes are, Wendy Morrison meets Ann Sui. And I’m loving EVERY. LITTLE. BIT. OF. IT!








THE THRIFTY FINDS


If you’ve been following me any amount of time at all, then you know I am a “weekender thrifter” (ok, it’s more like on Fridays but I digress).

One of my passions is making my home look FAB with thrifty finds (without the thrift look or SMELL.🙊😉)


I think I got the “thrifty gift” from my mom. Almost every weekend we would go get kolaches (for you Northerners, “pigs in a blanket"), donuts, and chocolate milk. We would spend the first part of our day scouting the neighborhood for garage sale finds and then head on over to our local Goodwill. Most of the time mom was looking for work clothes (she worked in an office and couldn’t afford expensive suits). But let me tell you, my mom was dressed to the nines! You would’ve thought her outfit was from Saks vs Salvation Army.


So, I guess I like to dress up my home in the same fashion...”Beauty on a Budget”!


Now, let’s take a look around my office and see how I styled some of my thrifty finds, shall we?

I. Brass Trophy Vase

I have been DYING for one of these beauties. I’ve seen them around but they have been either too expensive, too large, or too banged up for me to purchase. This was a lucky $3 estate sale find...it was 25% off day so I actually got it for $2.25!



It was REALLY tarnished but I always go to my trusty “Bar Keepers Friend” to bring brass and silver back to life. I particularly love this piece because I have never seen a trophy vase in brass! (Not to mention it’s from India...I have fond memories of doing mission work there). Do you love it?


II. Hand Painted Chinoiserie Pic


Ok, I’m OBSESSED with this little piece. I love the colors! It was only $.99 at Goodwill. Apparently someone paid $300 for it. But the best thing yet? Look at the original inscription! These are the things that make my heart go “pitter-patter” while thrifting.☺️






III. Rolled Arm Bench


I about DIED when I saw the shape of this bench on FBMP. I drove 2 hours (and almost got a ticket) just to have it! I didn’t know what I was gonna do with it so it sat in my garage until I started working on this project, looked through my fabrics, and it was a match made in heaven! I thrifted it for $50!! It is vintage and was only used for staging by a professional photographer.


Before...


After!!


Look at that GORGEOUS rolling arm. Truth be told, I only had 2 yards of this chinoiserie fabric so I had to get inventive because there wasn't enough fabric to go around...the velvet swirl on the arm worked out PERFECTLY!




IV. Lady in Green


Another thing I’m obsessing over, is this “Lady in Green”! I have never ever EVER seen original paintings on silk. It’s just gorgeous and I imagine it was painted in the 1800s the south of France somewhere.😉. She actually has a friend, “Lady in Red”. I got them BOTH on FBMP for $10!!!




You are probably wondering about the gorgeous pagoda chair. Yes, it was $20 on FBMP. It was an ugly green (you can catch a glimpse of it in the garage pic above) and I painted it a high gloss black and recovered the seats. I wanted it to look classy yet versatile. I think this did the job. :)




V. Bamboo Tray

This bamboo tray with etched cherry blossoms is so gorgeous....so unique...so ME! Another Goodwill find for just $.99! Can you believe it?! It's a perfect "catch all" for all my other thrifty finds.



So the "showstopper" of this room HAS to be my framed heron (Gucci dupe) wallpaper! You guys...it is STUNNING!






I initially wanted a bamboo frame but it was hard to come by at Michaels so I chose a bambooish gold one and it was a match made in Heaven.


I hope you absolutely love it. Here I leave you with some additional pics...hope you guys enjoyed this office makeover. I love love LOVE sharing styling thrifty finds with you guys and I’ll definitely continue to do so via blogging and IG! I hope you all have a GREAT weekend! <3

xo

Christina












73 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page