top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina Hollensbe

Hollensbe Home Designs Spring 2020 - One Room Challenge

(Week 1)


Well to my surprise (and maybe to some of you too), here I find myself...at Week 1 of the One Room Challenge! I’m SO excited!!!



This will be MY VERY FIRST ORC...EVEEEERRRR. I had no intentions (or even a THOUGHT) of participating. But when a very special and respected designer, neighbor, and friend encouraged me to participate, I pulled up my Texas boot straps (is that a thing? Because I don’t really wear boots) and signed up!

If you are new to Hollensbe Home Designs (and most of you probably are), I just wanna give a GREAT BIG TEXAS SIZE HUG and say, “Howdy”!

I am a Texas gal with very eclectic taste. It’s not uncommon to see traditional mixed with modern mixed with natural elements. I have an island home so expect to see nods of the ocean and our island life....grays, blues, neutrals, gold, brass, and sometimes I do go crazy with color!

My husband John and I love living on the Texas Coast! We live here with our spoiled fur “baby”, Petals.


BEFORE PICS

So what room will I be making over?? That’s easy. After hearing a “drip...drip...drip” last week we realized our toilet had CRACKED and was leaking ALL OVER the Guest Bathroom upstairs (for God knows how long). So the choice was forcibly made for us.

But it was a blessing in disguise (God bless this mess!) because although I tried to make it work, it just needed much more "zhuzh".



And did I mention the previous owners had carpet in the bathroom?! YUCK!










As you can see, we already ripped out the vanity, cabinets, and toilet. We pulled up the floor and installed some sheet rock and installation...but there is still much work to be done!


THE PLAN

Since the hubs is doing most of the “unseen” labor, he gets a say so on this one. He’s more (how do I say this)....vanilla! And I’m more....bananas, chocolate, strawberries, with nuts and cherries on top!🤪

SO, my plan for this bathroom is to keep it clean and simple but sophisticated! But don’t worry, there will still be elements that are SURE to make you drool.


So yeah, it’s gonna be a Reno...FOR SURE! Whew! Are you ready for this?! :)


SOURCES

Copper Wall Lights - Living House.co.uk

Vanity - Overstock

Arabascato Gold Marble Floor - Lowe’s

Mirror - Wayfair

Copper and Lucite Drawer Pulls - Forge Hardware Studio

Copper Wall Shelf - Urban Outfitters

Copper Bathroom Fixtures - Houzz

Paint - Benjamin Moore


TO DO LIST

Install Moulding

Paint Walls

Install Vanity

Install Urban Outfitters Copper Shelf

Finalize towel hooks, toilet paper holder, and rug

Install Lighting

Finalize Artwork


Thank you sooooo much for joining me on this journey (and for your cheerful thoughts along the way).

I’m super excited about my very own Hollensbe Home Designs Spring 2020 One Room Challenge!  

Please be sure to follow along this process (and maybe some inspiration along the way) on Instagram as well!


I’ll be back every Thursday so you can see updates and how I transform this old yucky space into a clean, sparkly, and sophisticated one!

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page