top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina Hollensbe

Hollensbe Home Designs Spring 2020 - One Room Challenge

(ORC Week 8)


The REVEAL!!! For two months...we’ve worked on this guest bathroom renovation...TWO months! We’ve come a long way baby!

Let’s take a look of where we FORCIBLY began (because our toilet cracked and flooded the bathroom floor).






The sad news is that it looked much worse before we gutted it out (who puts carpet in wet areas?!!)

But I tried...🥴



Still, the cracked toilet tank and flooded bathroom was a blessing in disguise. It forced us to finally tackle that long awaited guest bathroom.

But before THE BIG REVEAL, I just wanted to give a caveat...I don’t remove/edit anything from my pics...what you see is what you get. At the MAXIMUM, I may lighten up a pic or two because A). There is no lighting in the space B). I use no fancy cameras or umbrella lighting...my pics have all ALWAYS been what I capture from my iPhone (yes, you heard that right...FULL DISCLOSURE).

Also, I took several different pics styling in several different ways so I thought it would be fun to show you and mix it up a bit. Hopefully one or two will inspire you.😉

THE REVEAL














The Arabascato gold floors were a GREAT choice. I only wish we had time to cover the whole tub and shower with it....and I can’t deny my love for the zebra patterned shower curtain (which by the way, I added some gray fringe to - look closely)!




I knew I wanted to do something different with fixtures....so I opted for copper! And there’s no turning back! I think as it ages and the patina starts to show, it will be even more gorgeous for my island home!



The sink faucets are from Pylrich. It was more costly than your builders grade faucet but the sleek polished copper design makes it soooooo worth it!



We opted to keep the cabinet over the toilet (hey, it was good wood!) and bought the paint to match our vanity.


The lucite and copper handles are from Forge Hardware.



I was inspired by a few photos (see week 2 post) but due to COVID, some things were out of stock or just not arriving on time, so I changed a few things along the way. But ultimately, the hubs and I love the final outcome (and he’s a tough critic!). We both loved it and are happy that we gave our bathroom a timeless look!


The vision I had in mind for this bathroom was a classic look mixed with modern, vintage, and unexpected patterns and textures. I ended up executing the look with…


+ Marble Arabascato Gold floors and a spa like lighted mirror

+ Modern elements such as a sleek toilet, abstract art, zebra shower curtain, copper sink hardware from Phylrich, and lucite and copper details

+ Vintage elements such as my ornate frame, framed vintage woman art, and using the lions head door knocker as a towel holder

The Italian marble top on the vanity is a classic touch, while the base with its minimalist drawers and clean lines shows off a more modern silhouette.



FLOOR:


I knew I wanted marble flooring but the hubster loved the faux wood look. We searched several places but couldn’t find a tone of wood that we loved. So, while at Lowe's one afternoon we spotted this white and gold toned Arabescato marble. The hubs did all the hard work while installing the tile but it was so worth it...he loves it just as much as I do. It’s the perfect match to the gray vanity and Carrara vanity top.


VANITY AND HARDWARE

We couldn't agree on a vanity we both loved so we ended up splurging when we found this one and couldn’t be happier with the results. I knew I wanted to Rub n Buff the chrome hardware with this Autumn Gold color and I think it turned out great!





MIRROR AND SCONCE

Ok, so the sconce maaayybbee didn't get here in time but can you picture it?



I can't wait for it to come in...the additional copper and lighting will work wonders!


For the mirror, I looked high and low for "the one" but couldn’t find something I loved. I almost settled then one night I stumbled upon this gorgeous sleek and simple frameless one from Mirrors and Marble.


The commercial-grade, rectangular, front-lighted LED mirrors are used in luxury hotels, spas and make-up studios - perfect for my guests spa like bathroom!



TOILET


For the toilet we picked a very simple Kohler's model. I initially wanted one with a "push" flusher but thankfully my sweet hubs reminded me I wouldn't be able to put my "pretties" on top of the tank so we opted for this one instead.




ART


The art above the toilet is from Artfully Walls and on the opposite wall (through the mirror), I ordered a copper abstract piece off of Etsy. I love how I mixed the modern artwork with the more ornate traditional art frame (which I also Rub N Buffed copper). I think both art pieces make a great statement.




Overall, my eclectic senses were satisfied with this mix of modern, traditional, and classic elements. I can say I’m proud of myself. Reaaaaallly proud of myself. Not because everything turned out perfect, but because I took a risk and entered this amazing challenge with so many AMAZING people. I did it with fun (and maybe some blood, sweat, and tears), but I did it!!

A special thanks to Sarisa at The Indigo Leopard Home. I don’t think I would’ve “jumped” without her encouragement to start (and her encouragement along the way). Thanks Sarisa!!


Be sure to check out all the other AH-MAZING reveals and their beautiful talents.




389 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page