top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina Hollensbe

Home Office Refresh

Oops, I did it again (que Britney). Just as I absolutely fell in love with this guest bedroom, I realized it just wasn’t working for us....


The guest bedroom is directly above the master bedroom and for whatever reason, you can hear our guests footsteps (which way too often keep me up at night). So for my sake (and theirs 🤭), I decided to do a switcharoo.


It works out because the “new” guest room is larger and has its own balcony (see post here). This room is smaller but I’ve been wanting to minimize my “stuff” anyway.😉


Very rarely do I spend money when I redo a room. But I did buy a very inexpensive desk for this room (more on that later). Other than that, it truly is a “refresh”...I shop my home and play with putting pretty things together.


With this room getting a lot of sunshine, I knew I wanted to keep the space light and airy. I also knew that I wanted a combo of florals and animal prints (because this Texas gal just can’t get enough of animal prints)! Truth be told, I already have zebra, tiger, leopard, and antelope prints...now it was just about putting color, style, and textures together. I wanted it girly and floral and for it to say, “My space.”☺️



Lucite is a fab way to let light shine through and keep things light and airy...plus I just looooooove lucite. It takes everything up a notch!




I can't recall where I got the lucite console table but there are several out there at various price points. I THINK I bought this one at Wayfair. It's a great little lucite table that gives me easy access behind my desk (plus, it's just pretty).


I SO BADLY wanted this floral print for my office. At $15, I was happy to “steal” it off FB Marketplace but the individual had forgotten to mark it “sold” (don’t you love it when that happens?)



So for now, this $5 estate sale floral pic hanging below the federal mirror will have to do (which I absolutely LOVE...you’ve probably already seen it in almost every room of my house).



The mini federal mirror above it was a $2 find at my Salvation Army....TWO DOLLARS!! I used some Rub N Buff to brighten up the gold a bit but it was the steal of the year!


Because I have a closet within the room for my gift wrap and craft supplies, the space around my desk is designated to daily necessities for list making, blogging, creating client designs and working on projects.


My desk top holds a display box with items I use most frequently, along with a Willow Tree platter that I use as a tray to hold a stack of stationery and a pad of paper for notes and lists.


I chose this desk because of the price point and style. I did't want to spend alot of money and I loved that the campaign style handles matches my dresser...


BUT...this is definitely a case of "you get what you pay for". It's beautiful but awful. I could see spots that were touched up with white paint, areas where they added wood-filler, cracks in the wood, and the holes were not adjusted to fit (thank God for a handy hubby). There were mixed reviews so I took a chance but I wouldn't recommend this desk AT ALL.


Moving on...Can you believe I almost got rid of this chair?! I don’t know why bc I absolutely love it...especially in this space!



Across from my desk is my coveted Henredon dresser. It was another $30 FB Marketplace find. It was brown but I painted it white and brightened up the brass. I use it to store addition office supplies and to store away books.


The vintage mirror above it was found at one of my favorite antique stores. This is one you’ll see often as I plan to keep it forever.

And I can't believe I almost sold my Woodstock typewriter but I’m glad I didn’t! Some of you may not know but I’m a published author and I bought this vintage typewriter when I first started writing. I have somewhat of an emotional attachment to it so for now, I’ll keep it.😊

I got the Dalmatian print lamps on clearance at At Home last year because there was a hairline crack on one of them...I’ll take them! I’m so glad I did too bc I think they look perfect in this room!

And speaking of perfect, check out that antelope rug I had hidden in my closet. I sure do wish I would’ve gotten a larger size when I purchased it but it sure is a beauty!🥰


Each side of my lucite console is flanked by gorgeous etageres with lucite/gold foil frames. The etagere’s are sisters, not twins. I don’t know why I bought only one of each but I love them both so it works for me.



The lucite and gold etagere was on sale at Grandin Road a couple of years ago...



The gold bamboo etagere was ordered from Safavieh...



I have a lot of room to grow with these shelves should I need to expand in the future. As you can see, I also opted for acrylic paper organizer and journal holders to give me versatile, timeless storage that will last for many years to come.

When it comes to filing paperwork, I purchased two floral boxes, one for outgoing items and another for incoming. 



By the closet is my pink evidence cabinet that was $35 on FB Marketplace (although it wasn’t pink at the time...it was chocolate brown). I thought about reselling it since I am in a smaller room but I just love this unique piece. Plus, without having the bed in here, I actually have more room than I thought. I love the extra storage to hold things like wallpaper samples, craft paper, glues, markers, paper punches, labeling supplies, etc...  The small drawers keep each category fairly orderly. This is where my "creating" comes alive.  How amazing is this vintage evidence cabinet!  It looked hopeless when I first purchased it but I gave it a good spray of paint and painted the hardware and she's just so "perdy"!


Perched on top of the set of drawers are acrylic organizers that hold some "angel wing" seashells I have collected since we moved to the island and on the brass footed card holder I have some of my personal business cards, as well.


So now let's take a quick peek at how I organized my closet space.


After the closet was completely emptied and vacuumed, it instantly freshened up the entire area.  I always love a blank slate!

Based on the sorted categories, the goal was to create an organized station of gift wrapping, arts and crafts, as well as a space to corral and conceal all of my "other" miscellaneous items. 

For the gift wrap cart, I used this one from Target (I already had the black boxes and the black and white bins).


The first glitter box holds gift wrapping embellishments, scissors, pens, tags, stickers, etc... while the bottom box holds gift boxes and tissue paper.


I also reused acrylic make-up organizers on the cart to store my fragrances and wall plug-ins (yes, i still use these, don't judge). I just love a good smelling home. The drawers also hold sachets that I hide all over my home.



The top of the white cubbies holds additional note pads, label tags, tassels, and "thank you" cards. I purchased the organizer from Target. I love that it came with a few divided areas, which is perfect for my stack of stationery and cards.



I love this vanity organizer! It comes with the tray and 3 cubbies...I took 2 cubbies out and used a portion of the tray for my tags. I love these clip on bin tags. I use them on bins, baskets, and just about anywhere I need some organization. Any time I spot them at Target, I hoard them because they don’t carry many and they tend to go quickly!


I’ve had the white cube like FOREVER. I love these things! I purchased at Target as well (and I'm not even sponsored by them).


Inside the cubbies, are gorgeous gold floral bins purchased at Walmart. The bins keep everything streamlined and conceal miscellaneous items.  They hold everything from parting gifts to stamps and ink pads, and even room sprays. 



You guys are gonna think I’m so “extra” (and maybe I am...just a little) but I used a bit of gold “Rub n Buff” on my clip-on labels. Although I don’t mind mixing metals, the chrome on the gold bins was just to “stark” for my liking.


Speaking of “extra”, above the closet is where I keep my seasonal candles. I divide them by Summer/Spring scents and Fall/Winter. It works for me too because once these bins are full, it keeps me from buying more (at least until they’re used up or donated).


I haven’t completely finished organizing my closet but I placed a cork board in here for my inspirations...I didn’t want to leave it in the open due to it looking too cluttered. I also have a pegboard on the way that will hold lots of ribbon and arts & Crafts.


And that is literally a wrap!  Whew!  I just love this room so much and can't wait to eat, pray, work, in here. It's quite the transformation that took place over the course of a couple of days. I will now leave you with some additional pics...







Until next time, stay safe and chat with you soon!💋

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page