top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina Hollensbe

Summer Home Tour (Mini Refresh: Palms & Animal Prints)!

It is no secret that I get bored with the same style and arrangements in my rooms (really quickly)! I also have severe allergies so it bodes me well to rearrange and clean under the furniture as often as I can to get rid of all those dust balls (ah-choo)! ;)


SO, I decided to go ahead and refresh some rooms in my home for Summer. Please Note: I did NOT purchase anything new. I simply shopped my home for items I could use in new ways in new places. I am a firm believer that you can have a space you love without breaking your bank or possessing too much clutter (in fact, I'm simplifying my home more and more as we speak)! SO, grab a drink and I'll take you on my Summer home tour. Enjoy!


The Living Room

The first thing you see as you walk into my living room is this fab leopard pillow from Opalhouse (my husband says it makes it look “jungly” in here but meh, what does he know, right ladies?😉)




Our living room is elongated so it can be a challenge to rearrange in ways that make sense. So I sorta divided the living room in two parts (which you'll see in a moment). I made this section more of a just a seating section with my flamingo, leopard, and palm pillows (obvi - oh, and did you notice my bamboo lamp that was a thrifty find?!).




If you read my Spring Home Tour than you know I had my new gold bamboo etagere where one of the white recliner sits now. Since then I have moved it over against our elongated wall.



As you can see, I restyled the shelves with leopards, cockatoos, and of course a blue and white chinoiserie vase and ginger jars.



I brought my blue and white chinoiserie garden stool from my bedroom and placed it here (to even out the space but let’s be honest, also to cover those ugly electrical outlets) with a purple orchid on top.



I kept the throw pillows I used in my Spring Home Tour because....well, these pillows with the watercolor peonies from Society 6 are just too pretty to store away just yet. And they’re still “Summery”, right? I kept it pretty simple but the blue and white leopard pillows on our recliners gives it that “roooaaaarrr” you may be looking for. ;)





On the coffee table I placed a floral arrangement I previously made on top of a stack of books with lucite dominos and lucite tic-tac-toe (ahhhh...ready to lounge and play games ALL Summer)!




On the end table I placed my $8 thrifty brass lamp along with a geometric gold vase and fuchsia colored hydrangeas (I just love how brass makes those colors “POP”)!



The Bar Cart

If you follow me on Instagram, then you’ve already seen my bar cart. Instead of another end table, I decided to switch it up a bit and place our bar cart on the other side of our white leather sofa. For the most part, we keep an alcohol free home. So our “bar cart” is really more of a drink station (as you can tell from the Hint bottles and La Croix cans). But nonetheless, I still love styling my bar cart!



I placed a little gold Kate Spade lamp found at Home Goods on top of some books (for added height) and made another floral arrangement to place in this blue and white Spode bowl. It nicely ties in with all my other blue and white chinoiserie decor.


The champagne glasses and crystal pitcher are for Saturday brunch when my husband and I sip on mimosas and devour frittatas...just kidding!😆. The champagne glasses were our wedding glasses for a champagne toast on our wedding day (14 years ago!) and the pitcher was a Ross find. They are here because they are just too pretty to keep hidden away! Truth be told, chances are that pitcher will be filled and re-filled with lots of sweet southern tea this Summer!



The tea towel was $1 Walmart find (because y’all know my love for pineapples) and the brass pineapple ice bucket was another Home Goods find.


The Dining Area

Some of you have already seen my dining room area. I didn’t change much in here (I’m still loving that navy gingham tablecloth)!




The Master Bedroom

In the master bedroom I kept the room soft with light pink pillows, white, and (what else?) leopard! I think leopard is fitting all year round. I find the combination so soft and romantic. (*Please Note: This is a pleaded Nicole Miller comforter. It has been steamed and is not wrinkled. It’s the look and I just happen to love it.😉).



On the night stand I kept my metallic gold lamps (that I spray painted myself), some books, and this Lily Pulitzer trinket tray that reads, “It’s Summer Somewhere”. Y’all, I’m going “goo-goo-gah-gah” over the trinket trays (there’s two) and even the box! (I have snuck that beautiful box in a lot of my decor).





On the other side of my bed is my reading nook that I re-styled recently. I put together that fiddle leaf plant and I think it’s just fabulous in here!



In between the bed and reading nook, you can see our sliding door to the outdoors. We just love it out here and enjoy dining “all fresco” during Summer evenings. You can catch an ocean breeze and sometimes we throw a fishing line in just for fun.😉




Here you can sneak a peek at our master bedroom from the entryway. All the blues, pinks, and white flow together flawlessly.



Guest Bedroom

Now this is an area of the house you don’t get to see often. It’s because it’s nowhere near what I one day envision. BUT, I do like to keep a fresh palm beach/coastal theme in here because my guests enjoy it! It helps them feel relaxed while they visit and come to vacay on the island. :)



I love the black and white spotted sheets I found at Walmart (I’m sure you have seen this vibe in other parts of my home). I pretty much treat it as a neutral but I love how the black and white brings out the colors in this palm print pillow (another Walmart find)!



As ya'll know, I have a love of reading nooks so I set up a cozy little corner for my guests to enjoy some reading time or just a place to put on their shoes.


Their view isn't too bad either as they can look out their window and see the sunrise, water, and boats. It's just a relaxing space (which is the idea)!



I made this room very tropical (or as my husband would say, “jungly”😜) by adding topical birds, pineapples, and some palm leaves for some greenery.



The lamp is one I already had (y’all, I’m obsessed with lamps. I have about, no joke, 12 or more lamps. Somebody stop me)!


The gold basket houses some additional throw pillows and a blanket in case my guests get chilly (although we’re in South Texas...that rarely happens ya'll!)


I don’t have anything above the bed yet...I haven’t decided what I want there (See? Still a work in progress!). But this mini refresh will do for now.


Well that about wraps it up! I hope you enjoyed the Summer Tour of our home! Please feel free to comment below and let me know what you think!

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page