top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina Hollensbe

Summer Tablescape!

Although I absolutely LOVE my blue gingham table cloth and table setting (see it in my Summer Home Tour), I felt it was time to switch it up a bit.


Some of you know by now that I love collecting a “hodge podge” of things so nothing in my home is really matchy matchy. All throughout my home you’ll find a mixture of animal prints, bold colors and patterns, a bit of glam, some vintage and of course, some gold accents.


Same is true for my table setting pieces. I just love the fun of mix matching and making some of my statement pieces work flawlessly together.


Some of you may remember this colorful tablecloth from my Spring table setting. I love the vibrant colors so much, I thought it would also be fun to use again for the Summer. Nothing says "chinoiserie" like bold colors, butterflies, and chrysanthemums! The table cloth itself has a very sturdy water spill proof fabric that is perfect for entertaining and all those Summer meals.  It was a Home Good purchase so I didn’t have to break the bank and I promise you, you’ll see it time and time again.



I also love mixing less expensive pieces with more “high-end” pieces. I just like what I like and if I can save a few bucks, even better.


The black and white polka dot plates are actually melamine that I found at At Home on sale for a few bucks (this is a great kid-proof option for those who are skittish about having breakables around kids). The white and platinum dishes are our wedding dishes from 14 years ago! And the gold chargers are a Dollar Tree find....see what I mean? Mixing expensive with inexpensive...unless I’ve told you, you probably wouldn’t have known that such a luxe table setting could be so inexpensive.😉



Another thing you may notice is that I don’t mind mixing metallics. It’s not uncommon to find gold intermixed with platinum and sometimes even copper throughout my home. Although lately I’ve been partial to gold, I really do like to mix metals and having a contrast. And again, using items I already have saves bucu of money. I didn’t buy anything new here...I just shopped my home!🙂



The centerpiece is a combo of a few plants I grabbed that I already had throughout my home. It gives it a bit of a "boho" vibe.




And I almost returned those hot pink candles but they work perfectly here! The palm candleholders were a thrifty find (originally dark brown until I spray painted them - what else - GOLD)!


I also refreshed the buffet table a bit...


Yes, that's an old intercom. Our home was built in the late 90s so we have them all throughout our house. Makes it a bit challenging while decorating but I don't mind them...I think it gives character and that cool 90's vibe. ;)


And I obviously cannot get over this beautiful original painting of the spoonbill I got for 100 bucks (100 bucks yall!!). It really is the focal point of my home and the reason I incorporate so much pink!



The palm lamp was also a thrifty $8 find that was originally brown but I busted out my beloved Rustoleum Gold spray paint and added a new lampshade.


I kept the buffet pretty simple by bringing a colorful bouquet from the living room and also adding my collection of abalone shells (I love hunting for these beautiful iridescent shells...a true treasure)!




The chairs are still a couple of my favorite DIY. Both chairs cost me $10 at a garage sale!


Before...

After :)

I just love the pink, blue, zebras, and friiiiiinnnggge!


Well, that about sums it up! Hope you enjoyed my Summer Tablescape. But who am I kidding? I love switching the table setting so much, don’t be surprised if it’s changed yet again before Summer is over.😉

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page