top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina Hollensbe

What's On My Dresser!

I did a small dresser refresh and I’m loving it! It’s amazing how small changes can really change the look of the whole room.


It’s been a busy season for me so I had NO PLANS to add anymore projects to my list but big or small, they just keep coming. ;)


I was at At Home yesterday looking for some specific lampshades of which I found NONE. But I DID find this gorgeous lucite and gold lamp! It was on clearance for $25 so I just couldn’t pass it up! So of course, I had to find a place for it so the “dresser refresh” began.


I often bump into vintage lucite and gold lamps when I go to estate sales or thrifting...but they are usually in bad shape. My new purchase obviously isn’t vintage but it's still gorgeous nonetheless. ;)


After spotting the beautiful lamp, I of course then had to shop for the perfect lamp shade. If you’ve ever been to At Home, you know there are plenty to choose from. Yet still, I had a hard time finding the perfect shade.


I tried every shade imaginable. White was just too bland for me. I tried a metallic shade but it was just “meh”. I even tried a pink cheetah print but it just didn’t fit well with this piece.

I was just about to give up when I stumbled across this gorgeous blue velvet shade that fit perfectly! Black would’ve looked nice with this lamp but I’m not a big fan of black in my home so I’ve convinced myself that blue is the new black. It’s a good thing too because I already have touches of blue velvet accent pillows in my bedroom so it all ties in together fabulously.

The brass cranes are a fave of mine. You will see them “fly” from room to room often. I spotted the pair on eBay and couldn’t pass them up. I see them at antique stores from time to time but usually just one, not the pair. I don’t typically purchase vintage items online as I enjoy the thrill of hunt but these just go too well with my home and I certainly get a lot of joy (and use) out of them. They are brass so they need a good polishing here and there but they are beautiful either way.

Aren't they lovely?


This mirrored trinket box jeweled with a pink agate stone was also an At Home find. If you follow me then you know that I’m definitely a “pink lady” so I didn’t have to think twice about bringing this beauty home with me. It's perfect for storing my “everyday” jewelry.

You probably may have noticed I have several malachite/agate pieces throughout my home (see my Spring Home Tour). I love nature so bringing the outdoors in just makes me feel like I have a little piece of heaven. It just gets me all warm and giddy on the inside. No matter your preference or style, that’s what your home and sanctuary SHOULD be!


Another new purchase was this beautiful flower pot. A friend recently gave me several indoor plants so this was another motivation for my dresser refresh (not to mention I'm having fun finding pretty new pots).

Isn't the floral detail just beautiful?

Everything else on my dresser, I already had. (Please keep in mind that even with new purchases, it doesn't have to get expensive. Although it seems like a lot of new items, everything was under $50 - the lamp alone is worth more that that!)


My top two dressers are lined for jewelry (mainly my costume jewelry).



Nonetheless, I keep pieces in this lucite organizer (intended for makeup but hey, who says it can’t be multifunctional?).





I like having some jewelry out on display or on top of my dresser. Otherwise, I forget about them when they are tucked away and hidden. So this works for me. I just try to keep out some of my favorite (or new) pieces. I try to keep it to a minimum otherwise, you run the risk of it looking too cluttered.


I love the glam these newly purchased pieces bring. It makes it fun while getting ready in the morning. The mirrored and lucite pieces also helps it feel light and airy which brings me a sense of calm.







That’s about it for today. Just wanted to write a short blog and share some of my fun findings. Hope it inspires you and gives y’all some organization/styling tips as well. What do y’all think?

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page